Pseudonymns in Blogland

15 May

I have been thinking – for quite awhile – about giving my family pseudonyms in blogland. I read many bloggers who do this – and they all have funny/appropriate/applicable names they have chosen for their loved one. Names which give their family members anonymity, yet also describe their personalities to some degree – I assume!

I love this idea. I love that I then wouldn’t have to call my husband “him/he”, or call my son “my son” or confuse you readers when describing my two daughters.

I have finally arrived – due to a new acquisition in our household – upon my chosen names. It’s only taken me a year.

My husband: The Sailboat King. More about this in a moment.

My son: Jack Pumpkin Head. (He’s 12. Need I say more?) I hope that using this name isn’t an infringement on L. Frank Baum’s copywrite. I tried to check but had no luck on turning anything up.

My oldest daughter: Meep. This has been her nickname for years, so it seemed appropriate.

My youngest daughter: Boo. When I was young we had a cat named Boo. She was a bit feisty. We named (with permission from her soon-to-be owners) one of our current kittens “Calli Boo” and she is an explorer, a runner, a cutie. ‘Nuf said.
Now for the explanation about my husband’s moniker.

I came to my husband a couple weeks ago with a request. A kinda major request that involves free airmiles and being away from home. He, looking slightly relieved and slightly guilty at the same time, said, “I’m glad you asked because I want to ask you something too.”

He wanted permission – my blessing ? – to buy a small sailboat. A Laser, to be exact.

The upshot: I am going out – with the kids – to Washington again this summer, and he went out to Wisconsin – with two of the kids – and bought the boat.

Then, of course, he had to sail it. I forgot that risking his life would be involved in this agreement.

Okay, perhaps I’m exaggerating. He can swim well and he wears his lifejacket. When he remembers.

The only picture I have of The Sailboat King and his trusty craft. I promise, there will be more to come in days ahead!

He took the boat out the first time with his mentor-in-sailing, his boss, sailing alongside in a sailboat of his own.

Everything went well.

He then took it out for the second time by himself. In 25 mph winds.

He’s a determined guy. Two friends, passing by on their way around the lake, stopped to watch as he struggled against God and the wind to get it in the water. They, the luckies, drove away. I, on the other hand, had to watch as he tacked across the bay, nearly spilling at least once, and decided that the errands I had meant to run while he sailed would have to wait while I put “911” into my speed dial on my cell phone.

The kids and I sat in the car and winced watched. Finally, after what felt like ages, but really was only about 15 minutes, he came in to shore, happy that he’d proven he could sail in such winds…and freely admitting that he would not likely ever do it again…at least, not on purpose.

I am pleased to say that nothing was wrecked or lost despite the spills the boat took while being launched and landed. I am displeased to say that I had forgotten to reinsert my memory card into my camera so I have no shots to prove any of this ever happened.

The next day we saw one of the friends who had stopped to marvel at The Sailboat King’s tenacity.

He was pleased that The King was still alive.

As am I.

20 Responses to “Pseudonymns in Blogland”

  1. gardenfreshtomatoes May 15, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    Wow…at least it’s a small sailboat…lay in a good supply of chammomile tea and lavender oil – you’ll be needing a way to calm your nerves after a few more outings like that! 😉

    • Gretchen O'Donnell May 15, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      Yes, good idea! The fact that it’s small means I won’t be required to go on it with him…and that makes me glad. Not because I don’t trust him as a sailor…but becuase I don’t trust myself as a swimmer!

  2. treadlemusic May 15, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    Sailing is such a beautiful quiet form of boating. I have only been a passenger and really know nothing (enough not be knocked senseless when the boom comes around, though!). The sailboat I have experienced was large enough to be on the ocean so felt fairly secure and the owner/brother-in-law is very skilled at it!). Interesting days ahead….Keep us posted!

    • Gretchen O'Donnell May 15, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      I’ve been on large sailboats a few times – and since I’m a terrible swimmer, it always made me very nervous! It is beautiful, yes…but I’m afraid that it’s something I’d rather watch than experience!

      • treadlemusic May 15, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

        I totally understand and i would, certainly, never own one…….I do like to swim but prefer small little row boats that are more for quiet fishing times than anything else;-D

  3. Just A Smidgen May 15, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    Well.. long live the King!! It’s always good to find something new to be passionate about in life! This must have been on his mind for some time! And you are so kind to just hold your breath and watch:) Fingers are crossed for his next expedition!

    • Just A Smidgen May 15, 2012 at 7:36 am #

      ps.. do you have a pseudonym we should know about?

      • Gretchen O'Donnell May 15, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

        Ummmm…other than being called “Bunny” by my mother, and “Turkey Lips” by my sister years ago, no!

    • Gretchen O'Donnell May 15, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      Yes, he really enjoys it and has for a while – and I agree – it’s a great hobby! It’s windy around here a LOT…so hopefully there will be good days thrown into the mix!

  4. Emily May 15, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    You have such a fun, fresh writing voice, Gretchen. Great story! 🙂

    • Gretchen O'Donnell May 15, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

      Thank you so much! If my husband keeps giving me foder for telling his stories, I’ll keep on writing!

  5. bitsandbreadcrumbs May 15, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Pretty sailboat and good for The King that he’s man enough to tackle it…practice will make perfect. Meanwhile for you: valium? 😉

    • Gretchen O'Donnell May 15, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      LOL! Yes, perhaps so. Seriously. I’m not sure if it’s worse to watch…or to drive away! Out of sight, out of mind? Not so much!

  6. whatimeant2say May 15, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Love it! Cap’n Firepants and the Sailboat King would have much to talk about!

    • Gretchen O'Donnell May 15, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

      🙂 I had been thinking about pseudonyms even before I began blogging, but you definitely helped push me along the way!

      • whatimeant2say May 15, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

        As a teacher, I decided I needed to be a bit surreptitious. Of course, I probably didn’t need to give my bulldog a nickname, but I kind of got carried away 🙂

  7. Paws To Talk May 15, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    This is fantastic! We love the pseudonyms.
    Bella and DiDi

  8. hotlyspiced May 15, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Those are fun names for everyone in your family. It’s great that your husband can go out on the lake with his new toy. I’ve been out on sailboats a few times but I’m no asset to the crew – utterly useless xx

Leave a Reply

