Leaping Lizards! I Really Need a Good Idea Here.

29 Feb

Twelve years ago today – or was it 16? – I got the grand idea that, being as it was Leap Day, I ought to do something unique. Something that I had never done before and that I would only do every four years on the 29th of February. It was a fine idea.

Trouble was, I couldn’t think of anything that I wanted to do that I could up and do at the spur of the moment, and, in addition, that I would only want to do every four years. I mean, what if I ended up really liking the activity? How could I wait another four years to do it again?

I never thought of anything.

So now, every four years, when “Leap Day” rolls around, I think, “What fun, unique, leap-ish thing should I do today?”

Any good ideas for me?

‘Cause I’m stumped.

19 Responses to “Leaping Lizards! I Really Need a Good Idea Here.”

  1. Kimberly February 29, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    Get a tattoo. Okay, okay, maybe not. How about go up into the attic and read your old journals? See if there was something idea in there. Or…well…pour a cup o’ tea and curl up with a good book, one from a new genre you haven’t read before.

    • Gretchen O'Donnell February 29, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      A new genre…there’s a good thought! And as for the tattoo…yeah, maybe not. Though I could swipe one of L’s temporary ones! 🙂

  2. Just A Smidgen February 29, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    I was thinking the same thing today, that I ought to take a “leap” of faith and a risk.. but I’m as stumped as you are! I think I’ll wait to see what unfolds today and I’ll let you know…

    • Gretchen O'Donnell February 29, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

      Yes, do let me know! I’d love to read about your leap of faith. So far today I’ve had to drive on icy roads…certainly not unique, though it is risky! Hey…I’ve had an idea, inspired by the thought of you in your kitchen…perhaps I should try to make bread…which frightens me…though, to be sure, I woudln’t want to wait only once every 4 years to try it again!

  3. marimann February 29, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    Write a long letter to yourself. Tell yourself all about where you are in life today, and where you want to be in four years from now, spiritually, mentally, physically…..seal it up and don’t open it until Leap Day, 2016. Repeat every four years. Oh yeah, and blog about it.

    • Gretchen O'Donnell February 29, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Hey, that’s a good thought! I used to do that when I was a kid…on my birthday…perhaps I should renew that habit!!!! thanks! I’ll keep you all informed!!

  4. cravesadventure February 29, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Well its Leap Day, so why not stretch your comfort zone and take a “leap” and try something new. Make it fun too:) The possibilities are endless and there is no right or wrong option, just whatever you come up with. Have a Great Day:)

    • Gretchen O'Donnell February 29, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      Yes, a leap…like, maybe, into a frozen lake? I’d be willing to limit that to one time every four years!!!!!!! Hmmm…better ponder that one!!

  5. bitsandbreadcrumbs February 29, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    Sorry, I thought I was taking a leap by getting another post out in February before it was gone, so no interesting idea of what else to do today here. Love your photo!

    • Gretchen O'Donnell March 1, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks – I think I’m going to have to post about what I did…or, will do…by way of inspiration from this post!

  6. rutheh February 29, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Give a dinner party with frogs legs on the menu? Nah!
    Write a short story about a baby born on Leap Day and how they felt when their birthdate came around only every 4 years.
    Go bungee jumping(leap?) Nah!
    Hmmm. Practice the high jump.
    I am empty for any great ideas.
    Check out those with the 101 lists. See Smile,kiddo comments on her FLat Ruthie post
    today. Seriously. there is a group of people with the 101 in 1001 something I read about.

    A visitor among us


    Always enjoy reading your posts.
    Ruth

    • Gretchen O'Donnell March 1, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Thanks, Ruth! And thanks for the ideas, too! I think I’ll have to let everyone know what I did…well, plan to do. It didn’t happen on Leap Day, but the inspiration came from this post!

    • Gretchen O'Donnell March 1, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      I just looked at that link – so fun! I really should do Flat Ruthie…I’m just so bad about the post office. maybe this summer!?

  7. hotlyspiced March 1, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Take your family out for dinner. You could make it a tradition that every Leap Year you make sure you get together to share a meal – way better than a tattoo!

    • Gretchen O'Donnell March 1, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      Yeah, no tattoos on this body! Having a meal together is something we do every day (my kids are all still little enough!) but perhaps a fancy meal…that would be good fun!

  8. M L Fuller March 2, 2012 at 4:14 am #

    I love the title of your blog post- it makes me want to watch Carol Burnett as Miss Hannigan in Annie!

    • Gretchen O'Donnell March 2, 2012 at 7:08 am #

      Yeah, it made me think of Annie, too. Miss Hannigan isn’t so nice, but Carol Burnett is always a funny memory!

  9. Kiran @ KiranTarun.com March 5, 2012 at 1:13 am #

    Bury a keepsake with notes, somewhere and return to it after 4 years to reflect. Just make a note of it somewhere, so that you don’t forget about it. LOL, I would 😀

    • Gretchen O'Donnell March 5, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

      That’s a good idea! Someone suggested above that I write myself a letter to be read in 4 years…but I could make it a whole time capsule! Oy, vey. I should have asked this question a month ago!

Leave a comment