My Summer, in Photos…

8 Oct

Ok, so I still have many photos from both Orcas Island as well as from Duluth, Minnesota to post, but today you’re getting more of a grab bag. A few pictures from around home. A few from a weekend spent swimming with the fishes in Rochester, MN. A few that show the season. Enjoy!

Sunset from our back yard.

Sunset from our back yard.

We're still burning piles of dead trees from the ice storm in April.  It's been a huge process.

We’re still burning piles of dead trees from the ice storm in April. It’s been a huge process.

Two sisters enjoying the rain.

Two sisters enjoying the rain.

There was a barn fire not too far from us.  We stood in our yard and took a few photos.

There was a barn fire not too far from us. We stood in our yard and took a few photos.

The fire trucks were rushing past our house.

The fire trucks were rushing past our house.

Fun in the sun.

Fun in the sun.

I've spent many an evening sorting through old Martha Stewart magazines, dating from 1997.  Yes, I literally hurt my back moving the things.

I’ve spent many an evening sorting through old Martha Stewart magazines, dating from 1997. Yes, I literally hurt my back moving the things.

My son's day - if not his year - was made in the ferry line on the 4th of July when we saw this Delorean pull to a stop two lanes over from us.  Everyone and their dog started taking photos.  The lovely couple had come from a 4th of July parade where they show the car, all decked out like in Back to the Future.  My son got to sit in it and even pull the door closed.  He was in heaven.

My son’s day – if not his year – was made in the ferry line on the 4th of July when we saw this Delorean pull to a stop two lanes over from us. Everyone and their dog started taking photos. The lovely couple had come from a 4th of July parade where they show the car, all decked out like in Back to the Future. My son got to sit in it and even pull the door closed. He was in heaven.

The crops have gone from this...

The crops have gone from this…

DSC_9993

...to this...

…to this…

...to this.

…to this.

257

258

Meep tried so hard to catch a fish with her hands.  She got pretty close!

Meep tried so hard to catch a fish with her hands. She got pretty close!

If anyone can tell me what kind of fish these are, I'd appreciate it!

If anyone can tell me what kind of fish these are, I’d appreciate it!


DSC_0683
DSC_0687

14 Responses to “My Summer, in Photos…”

  1. Gwen Stephens October 8, 2013 at 6:48 am #

    Can’t help you with the fish photos. I love the crops progression pics! Great post. Makes me miss summer already.

  2. Beth Ann October 8, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    What a nice glimpse into your summer. I am missing it already…..sigh.

    • Gretchen O'Donnell October 8, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      It goes so fast, doesn’t it? At least the fall hasn’t been too harsh.

      • Beth Ann October 8, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

        Give it time, Gretchen. Give it time. There is still time for a nice surprise. The hail last week was one of them.Ugh.

        • Gretchen O'Donnell October 9, 2013 at 6:50 am #

          Yeah, Iowa got hit hard in a couple places last week for sure.

  3. Minnesota Prairie Roots October 8, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    You have some pretty sweet shots here, Gretchen. Especially like the fire truck image, the umbrellas and the Lucy spraying Katie. (Weren’t you afraid she’d get you and the camera too?)

    Thanks for sharing a glimpse of your summer. I’m already bemoaning that this is nearly mid October. I am so not ready for winter.

    • Gretchen O'Donnell October 8, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      Isn’t that fire truck shot cool? I am not entirely sure why it turned out the way it did, but I’m ok with that! I think I was using my telephoto lense for the hose picture, so I wasn’t too worried. 🙂 It’s been such a lovely fall that when it does get cold in the mornings it is somehow so very hard to take! We had frost yesterday morning…

  4. Jackie October 8, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Looks like you’ve had a lovely summer, I’m with Audrey, loved the firetruck photo and girls under the umbrella 🙂 What brought you to Rochester, that’s where I live 🙂

    • Gretchen O'Donnell October 9, 2013 at 6:52 am #

      I have a friend who lives there so we had a “Girls weekend” together. Then I spent too much money on back to school stuff. 🙂 Thanks so much for your lovely comments and for stopping by!

  5. whatimeant2say October 8, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    I LOVE the pic of the 2 girls in the rain. Cute!
    As for the fish, they look like Gouramis to me. Or sharks. There’s a fine line between the two.

  6. Ruth October 12, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    Sisters in the rain my favorite! Nice post of a lovely summer

Leave a comment